Infill Neighbourhoods

Any form of residential construction that happens in a built neighbourhood can be considered infill construction. Typically, houses built before the 1970's fall into the older neighbourhood category. To provide a geography to infill, we use neighbourhood classification system which categorizes neighbourhoods into core, mature and established neighbourhoods. These classifications are outlined in The Way We Grow: Municipal Development Plan, which is mandated by the Municipal Government Act. The Growth Analysis Unit within the City of Edmonton maintains the status of neighbourhoods. To find out if you live in a neighbourhood where new residential construction qualifies as infill, see the drop-down below:


The Central Core consists of neighbourhoods that surround downtown and extends south of the North Saskatchewan River.

Boyle Street






Central McDougall



Queen Mary Park


University of Alberta



Mature neighbourhoods include the majority of Edmonton's oldest neighbourhoods and are generally completed before 1970 (excluding the central core).

Abbottsfield Canora Glenwood
King Edward Park Parkdale Strathearn
Alberta Avenue Capilano Gold Bar
Lansdowne Parkview Terrace Heights
Allendale Crestwood Grandview Heights
Lauderdale Patricia Heights Virginia Park
Argyll Cromdale Greenfield
Laurier Heights Pleasantview Wellington
Aspen Gardens Delton Grovenor
Lendrum Place Prince Charles West Jasper Place
Athlone Delwood Hazeldean
Lynnwood Prince Rupert West Meadowlark Park
Avonmore Dovercourt High Park
Malmo Plains Queen Alexandra Westbrook Estates


Duggan Highlands
Mayfield Quesnell Heights Westmount

Beacon Heights

Eastwood Holyrood
McKernan Rideau Park Westwood


Elmwood Idylwylde
McQueen Rio Terrace Windsor Park


Elmwood Park  Inglewood 
Meadowlark Park  Ritchie  Woodcroft 
Belvedere Empire Park  Jasper Park 
Montrose  Rosslyn  York 
Bergman Evansdale  Kenilworth 
Newtown  Royal Garden   
Beverly Heights Forest Heights  Kensington 
North Glenora  Rundle Heights   

Bonnie Doon

Fulton Place  Kildare 
Northmount  Sherbrooke   

Britannia Youngstown

Glengarry  Kilkenny 
Ottewell  Sherwood   


Glenora  Kilarney 
Parkallen Spruce Avenue    



Established neighbourhoods are fully developed suburban areas that were generally completed after 1970.

Aldergrove Callingwood North Haddow
Lee Ridge Overlanders Terwilegar Towne
Bannerman Callingwood South Hairsine
Leger Pembina Thorncliff
Baranow Canon Ridge Henderson Estates
Lorelei Pollard Meadows Tipaskan
Baturyn Carlisle Hillview
Lumburn Ramsay Heights Tweddle Place
Bearspaw Carter Crest Hodgson
Maple Ridge Rhatigan Ridge Twin Brooks
Beaumaris Casselman Homesteader
McLeod Richfield Weinlos
Belmead Crawford Plains Jackson Heights
Menisa Sakaw Westridge
Belmont Daly Grove Jamieson Place
Meyokumin Satoo Westview Village
Bisset Dechene Kameyosek
Meyonohk Sifton Park Wildrose
Blackburne Dunluce Keheewin
Michaels Park Silver Berry  
Blue Quill Ekota Kernohan
Mill Woods Town Centre Skyrattler  
Blue Quill Estates Ermineskin Kiniski Gardens
Miller Steinhauer  
Brander Gardens Evergreen Kirkness
Minchau Summerlea  
Brookside Falconer Heights La Perle
Ogilvie Ridge Sweet Grass  
Bulyea Heights Gariepy Lago Lindo
Oleskiw Tawa  
Caenarvon Greenview Larkspur
Ormsby Terra Losa